NTSE Scholarship 2020-21: Amount & Criteria

Updated On -

Mar 19, 2021

Sudeshna Bhar's profile photo

Sudeshna Bhar

Exams Prepmaster

NCERT grants the NTSE 2020-2021 scholarship to scholars of Class 10th who qualify both Stage-I and Stage-II of the exams. NTSE scholarship amounts are presented up to the Ph.D. for progressing with learning within the domain of science.

Candidates who will take admission in professional courses like medicine and engineering, can get the benefit of NTSE scholarship 2020-2021 up to second-degree level. Candidates can read the selection process here.

NTSE Scholarship

NTSE Scholarship Amount

According to the NTSE criteria, applicants of different categories are awarded the same NTSE scholarship 2020-2021 given below table contains details of the same:

Stage Scholarship Amount
Higher Secondary level Rs.1250/-
Graduate and Postgraduate Rs.2000/-
For a Ph.D. degree (four years) As per UGC norms

Before heading for the NTSE 2021, candidates must read the eligibility criteria to make sure that they meet the requirements introduced by the authority.

NTSE Selection Process

NTSE Scholarship: Selection Process

  1. NTSE is split into a two-stage selection means of examination. Read selection process
  2. Candidates require to qualify, both stages to receive the scholarship.
  3. Stage-I selection is achieved, by the States/UTs after a written examination.
  4. Candidates need to qualify Stage-I in order to sit for Stage-II examination by the authority.
  5. The qualifying scores of candidates concerning the General and ST, SC, PH category is 40% and 32% respectively in each paper. Check NTSE Results
NTSE Advantages

NTSE Scholarship: Additional Advantages

The NTSE Scholarship comes with various other winnings, a few of them are as listed below:

  1. Preparing for the NTSE strengthens confidence as it makes the concepts stronger, to appear for various other competitive exams.
  2. NTSE Scholarship is the initial step for getting admission to the leading colleges across India.
  3. Candidates preparing to join foreign universities for his/her future studies receive a preference over other candidates.
  4. NTSE scholars are given extra credit when he/she proceeds to jobs.
  5. NTSE scholars are also favored during the selection for NDA.
  6. Versatile study materials and various other courses are opened at a lowered price.
NTSE Disbursement

NTSE Scholarship: Rules for Disbursement

The qualifiers studying in Sciences, Social Sciences, Humanities, Languages Commerce, Vocational studies, and fine arts are eligible to receive a scholarship up to Ph.D. level whereas the qualifiers studying professional courses will be eligible to receive the scholarship up to second-degree level. Read Scholarship Criteria here

The NTSE 2020 scholarship amount will be assigned and renewed for candidates only if they:

  • Obtain a least 60% score in aggregate each year.
  • Take up education in certified courses.
  • Support firm procedure as certified by the Head of the College/Institution
  • Extend their studies as a regular student.
  • Do not absent themselves without conventional leave.
  • Take up education on a whole-time basis.
  • Do not take up an undefined job with salary/remuneration/stipend.
  • Do not receive any other scholarship simultaneously.

NTSE Scholarship FAQs

Ques. What approximate amount I will be able to receive as a scholarship?

Ans: Following is the pattern of distribution of amount for various levels.

  • The scholarship amount for grades 11th and 12th is ₹ 1250/month.
  • The scholarship amount for Undergraduate and Postgraduate is of ₹ 2000/month.
  • The scholarship amount for Ph. D. the learner has been defined as per the UGC standards.

Ques. Am I able to ask for different scholarships after achieving NTSE Scholarship?

Ans: No, getting any other scholarship concurrently is against the standards of the NTSE Scholarship. If such activity is discovered the scholarship order will directly be declined.

3 Months Crash Course

*The article might have information for the previous academic years, please refer the official website of the exam.