prepp logo

Gujarat Public Service Commission (GPSC), Registration and Application 2020

Updated On -

Oct 7, 2020

GPSC stands for Gujarat Public service Commission formed under Article 315(1), Gujarat Public Service Commission came into the force from May 1, 1960. The aim of the commission is to select applicants for the civil service jobs under the state administration of Gujarat. The recruitment process of GPSC is carried out for 97 posts either through direct selection or through competitive exams.

Get FREE GPSC 2021 Mock Tests, Sectional Quiz, Previous Years Papers. Click Here

GPSC Selection Process 2020

GPSC Selection Process 2020

Gujarat Public Service Commission (GPSC) is conducted in three stages- Prelims, Mains and Interview.

Stage 1, that is, the preliminary exam consists of two papers that are objective in nature. Each paper carries 200 marks making a total of 400. Time allotted for each paper is 3 hours.

Stage 2, that is, mains examination consists of 6 papers that are descriptive in nature. Each paper carries 150 marks making a total of 900. Time allotted for each paper is 3 hours.

Stage 3, that is, a personal interview is conducted for students who qualify the Mains. It carries 100 marks where students are evaluated on the basis of their personality, suitability for the position, awareness and character.

Thus, a total of 1000 marks is considered for the final selection and the preparation of merit list.

Gujarat Public Service Commission - Online Job Application System, GPSC, OJAS

Prepp Test Series

GPSC Application Process 2020

GPSC Application Fill Up Process 2020

Students are required to register themselves through online mode. Candidates can visit the GPSC OJAS portal. However, candidates must fulfil the basic eligibility criteria as prescribed by the Commission to apply for the examination. Given below are the steps for online application of GPSC-

  • Go to the official website of the Gujarat public service commission (GPSC). Register yourself for all the exams conducted by GPSC.
  • Fill in the application form with all the personal details that are asked.
  • Print the application form.
  • Pay the application form.
  • Download the prelims/ mains examination call letter.

GPSC Application Fee Payment Process

Mode of payment is both online and offline. Candidates can pay the fees by cash at any computerized post office across Gujarat. Candidates can also pay the fees online via net banking, credit card or debit card.

Some categories that are exempted from paying the examination fees are -

Scheduled caste(SC) Physically disabled Ex-servicemen only for class III posts.
Scheduled Tribes (ST) Economically weaker sections from Gujarat.

Due to the ongoing pandemic, GPSC postponed the preliminary and mains examination that was scheduled until May 31, 2020.

Following are the posts for which GPSC will be conducting the examination in 2020:

  • Gujarat Administrative Service, Class I
  • Gujarat Civil Service, Class I and Class II
  • Gujarat Service of Engineering(Civil), Class I and Class II
  • Reporter
  • Gujarat Legislative Secretariat
  • Private Secretary (Grade I), Gujarati and English Stenographer
  • Range Forest Officer, Class II
  • Deputy Section Officer
  • Deputy Mamlatdar and Commercial Tax Inspector, Class III
  • Legal assistant, Class III
  • Translator, Class III(Information Department)
  • Translator Assistant, Class III ( Office of the director of languages)
  • Translator, Class III, Gujarat Legislative Secretariat
GPSC Exam Centres

Gujarat Public Service Commission (GPSC) Exam Centres

GPSC conducts examination across 16 centres of Gujarat. Following are the examination centres:

Ahmedabad SK (Himmatnagar) Jamnagar Valsad
Patan Surat Junagadh Vadodara
Bharuch Rajkot Kutch Bhuj Tapi
Bhavnagar BK(Palanpur) Mahesana Surendranagar
GPSC Eligibility

Gujarat Public Service Commission (GPSC) Eligibility Criteria

Candidates must fulfil the minimum eligibility criteria as prescribed by the commission to apply for Gujarat Public Service Commission (GPSC). Given below is the eligibility criteria for different categories-

  • Age Criteria
    • The age limit of the candidates must range between 20- 35 years.
    • Relaxation for Scheduled caste(SC) and Scheduled tribes (ST) is 5 years.
    • Relaxation for the OBC (Other Backward Classes) category is 3 years.
    • Relaxation for women (in reserved category) is 10 years.
    • Relaxation for women (in general category) is 5 years.
    • No relaxation in the upper limit is given to a government servant.
    • Relaxation of 10 years is given to physically disabled candidates.
  • Nationality
    • Candidates must be a citizen of India.
  • Educational Qualification
    • Candidates must have completed their graduation from a recognized board with 55 per cent of aggregate marks.
    • Candidates should have adequate command over Gujarati, Hindi and English language.

*The article might have information for the previous academic years, please refer the official website of the exam.