SSC CGL Exam Pattern

Updated On -

Sep 25, 2020

Sudeshna Bhar's profile photo

Sudeshna Bhar

Exams Prepmaster

The SSC CGL exam is a National level recruiting exam to shortlist candidates for posts in various departments of the Government of India. SSC CGL 2020 online exam for Tier-I round was conducted from March 03 to 09, 2020 while the Tier-II exam is re-scheduled to be held from 2nd November to 5th November 2020. The online recruitment process for CGL 2020-21 will begin on December 12, 2020. Download the official notice here.

 It is conducted in 4 phases every year- Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3 and Tier 4. The SSC CGL exam is the centralized exam conducted for joining the government jobs offered by the central government. By this year, tier 1 is held in a computer model. Tier 1 exam acts as a qualifying test for Tier 2. SSC CGL exam has a provision of negative marking. 

Keep yourself updated about Government Exams and Jobs

SSC CGL Tier 2 has 4 papers in total. Paper 1 and Paper 2 are compulsory for all the candidates. Tier 2 is conducted in online mode. Tier 3 and tier 4 exams are conducted in pen and paper mode for some of the defined posts.

Know About SSC CGL Syllabus

SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam Pattern

The total marks for the SSC CGL tier 1 exam are 200 marks. It is a computer mode test. The total number of questions are 100 in tier 1 exam. The time duration for the tier 1 exam is 75 minutes for all the students.

Know About SSC CGL Tier-I Exam Admit Card

The SSC CGL exam committee has extended the duration to 100 minutes for the VH (Visually handicapped) candidates and for the candidates suffering from cerebral palsy. The SSC CGL tier 1 exam pattern included the details of the questions in various segments.

SSC CGL exam pattern for tier 1 is described in the following table:

Section Name Total Number of Questions Total Marks
General Intelligence & Reasoning 25 Questions 50 Marks
General Awareness 25 Questions 50 Marks
Quantitative Aptitude  25 Questions 50 Marks
English Comprehension 25 Questions 50 Marks
Total 100 Questions 200 Marks

Every question has a weightage of 2 marks. The SSC CGL negative marking scheme indicates that the candidate will lose 0.50 marks for every wrong answer. Tier 1 is conducted in 2 shifts. 

Solve Previous Years Question Papers during Preparation. 

SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam Pattern

The SSC CGL tier 2 exam is conducted for the applicants who clear the SSC CGL tier 1 exam. The tier-II of 2019-20 exam has been postponed from November 2, 2020, to November 5, 2020. Earlier this was scheduled for June 22-25, 2020 but got postponed due to the nation-wide lockdown. Check  SSC CGL Exam Latest News

The SSC CGL exam pattern is different for the tier 2 exam. The candidate has to write 4 different papers for the tier 2 exam. The paper 1 and paper 2 are compulsory for the test takers of SSC CGL tier 2 exam. The candidates have got an option to choose from paper 3 and paper 4 depending upon the post applied for by the candidate.

The SSC CGL exam pattern details for tier 2 are as follows:

Paper Total Marks Total Questions Time Duration Time Duration for VH & Cerebral Palsy Candidates
Paper 1 (Quantitative Abilities) 200 Marks 100 Questions 2 Hours 2 Hours 40 Minutes
Paper 2 (English Language & Comprehension) 200 Marks 100 Questions 2 Hours 2 Hours 40 Minutes
Paper 3 (Statistics) 200 Marks 100 Questions 2 Hours 2 Hours 40 Minutes
Paper 4 (Finance and Economics) Finance and Accounts (80)+ Economics and Governance (120) (40+60) Questions 2 Hours 2 Hours 40 Minutes

The SSC CGL paper 3 is applicable for the candidates who have applied for the post of Statistical Investigator (also known as Junior Statistical officer). All the questions as per the SSC CGL marking scheme for Tier-2 carry 2 marks each. The SSC CGL tier 2 is a computer based objective type exam. As per the marking scheme, a loss of 0.50 marks will be practiced for all the wrong answers. Read Tips to Solve Quantitative Aptitude

The SSC CGL exam pattern also makes it clear that SSC CGL paper 1 is based on the education standards of class 10. The SSC CGL paper 2 will contain questions from class 12 syllabus. The SSC CGL paper 3 and paper 4 are designed to test the aptitude of graduation level education.

SSC CGL Tier 3 Exam Pattern

The SSC CGL tier 3 exam is a pen paper-based exam and was introduced last year. The candidates who have cleared the SSC CGL tier 2 exam will be eligible for tier 3 exam. The candidates must know that the SSC CGL exam pattern for tier 3 is not clearly defined. The candidate will be asked to write an essay/precise/letter /Application and it is conducted just to check the writing skills of the candidate.

The SSC CGL tier 3 exam can be written in Hindi or English language. The marking scheme is not defined for the SSC CGL tier 3 exam. The candidate will have to write the essay/passage of 250 words and letter/ application writing of approximately 150 words. The candidate has to score 33% marks in the SSC CGL tier 3 exam to appear for the tier 4 exam.

Also, Know About SSC CGL 2020 Syllabus

SSC CGL Tier 4 Exam Pattern

The SSC CGL tier 4 exam is the final stage of CGL exam. The tier 4 exam is conducted to test the typing skills of the candidate for various posts. The stage 4 is also known as Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) / Computer Proficiency Test (CPT).

The DEST exam requires the applicant to press 2000 keys (correct keywords) in an hour. The OH (Orthopedically Handicapped) category candidates are exempted from the exam, but if they wish to apply for the post of Tax Assistant in CBEC then they have to appear for the DEST. The VH (Visually Handicapped) and HH (Hearing Handicapped) are not exempted from the DEST. The VH candidates will be getting a compensatory time of 20 minutes. The compensatory time is granted only to those VH candidates who have used the services of a scribe during written exam.

The CPT (Computer proficiency test) tests the candidate’s ability to work with the Word Processing, Spread Sheet and Generation of Slides. The candidates who have applied for the post of Assistant Section Officer of CSS are required to appear for the CPT.

Both the CPT and DEST are conducted at the Regional/Sub-Regional Offices of the Commission. The combined marks obtained in the SSC CGL tier 1 and tier 2 will form the basis for the CPT/ DEST test.

*The article might have information for the previous academic years, please refer the official website of the exam.