SSC CGL Official Notification 2017

Updated On -

May 30, 2017

Vivek Bansal's profile photo

Vivek Bansal

Content Curator

SSC (Staff Selection Commission) is expected to release the official notification for CGLE 2017 (Combined Graduate Level Examination) on May 16. Candidates can check the official notification for SSC CGL 2017 at

  • SSC CGL is conducted to recruit candidates for various posts in Group B & C categories in various Government Ministries.
  • SSC has already released the official notification for CGLE-2017 in various national newspapers.

SSC CGL 2017 Notification

  • The window for SSC CGL Tier I is scheduled from August 01 to August 20, 2017.
  • New date for commencement of SSC CGL 2017 Application Form will be notified soon by SSC. 
  • The tentative date for closure of SSC CGL 2017 Online Registration is June 16, 2017

Read SSC CGL 2017 Notification

SSC CGL 2017 Eligibility Criteria

The eligibility criteria for SSC CGL 2017 to be filled by candidates would vary depending upon the posts for which they are applying. Only the candidates with following nationality are eligible to apply for SSC CGL.

  1. A citizen of India
  2. A subject of Nepal
  3. A subject of Bhutan
  4. A Tibetan refugee who came over to India, before the January 1, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India
  5. A PIO (Person of Indian Origin) who has moved from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African Countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania (Formerly Tanganyika and Zanzibar ), Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam intending to settle down permanently in India.

Read SSC CGL Eligibility Criteria

SSC CGL 2017 Application Form

SSC CGL 2017 Application Form is available only in online mode. Candidates can register for SSC CGL 2017 at 

  • The registration process for SSC CGL 2017 will be notified soon by SSC.
  • SSC CGL 2017 Application Form consists of 2 parts – Online Registration and Online Form Filling.
  • Applicants are required to send only one SSC CGL application as multiple applications from the same candidate would be summarily rejected.
  • The application fee for SSC CGL is INR 100/-. SC/ST category candidates and female applicants are exempted from the payment of application fee.

SSC CGL 2017 Exam Pattern

SSC CGL 2017 consists of 4 tiers. The first 2 tiers are computer based test while tier 3 is a written descriptive test and tier 4 is a skill test. Caandidates can check the pattern for all the tiers is mentioned below.

Tier I comprises 4 sections consisting of 25 questions each. The time allotted for the exam is 75 minutes. The highlights for Tier I is mentioned in the table below.

Sections Total no. of questions Total marks Time duration
General Intelligence and Reasoning 25 questions 50 marks 75 minutes (For VH and suffering from cerebral palsy: 100 minutes)
General Awareness 25 questions 50 marks  
Quantitative Aptitude 25 questions 50 marks
English Comprehension 25 questions 50 marks
Total 100 questions 50 marks

Tier II comprises separate paper for Quantitative Abilities, English Language & comprehension, Statistics and General Studies (Finance and Economics). The time allotted for the paper is 2 hours while total marks allotted per paper is 200. The pattern for SSC CGL Tier II is indicated in the table below.

Paper Total Marks Total Questions Time Duration Time duration for VH & Cerebral Palsy candidates
Paper 1 (Quantitative Abilities) 200 marks 100 Questions 2 hours 2 hours 40 minutes
Paper 2 (English Language & Comprehension) 200 marks 100 Questions 2 hours 2 hours 40 minutes
Paper 3 (Statistics) 200 marks 100 Questions 2 hours 2 hours 40 minutes
Paper 4 (Finance and Economics) Finance and Accounts (80) + Economics and Governance (200) (40+60) Questions 2 hours 2 hours 40 minutes

SSC CGL 2017 Tier III is a Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi consisting of Essay/ Precise/ Letter/ Application writing. The total marks allotted for the paper is 100. All candidates will be given 60 minutes to complete the paper. 

SSC CGL 2017 Tier IV is a Skill Test. It is the final stage of CGL exam. The tier 4 exam is conducted to test the typing skills of the candidate for various posts. The stage 4 is also known as Data Entry Skill Test (DEST) / Computer Proficiency Test (CPT). The DEST exam requires the applicant to press 2000 keys (correct keywords) in an hour.

Read SSC CGL 2017 Exam Pattern

SSC CGL 2017 Selection Process

The selection of candidates is based on their cumulative performance across all 4 tiers. Some key highlights of SSC CGL Selection Process is enumerated below:

  • The first two tiers of SSC CGL 2017 are computer based objective test.
  • Candidates who manage to clear SSC CGL 2017 Tier 1 will be qualified to appear for Tier 2.
  • Similarly, those who manage to clear Tier I will be shortlisted to appear for Tier 2.
  • SSC CGL tier 3 exam is a pen paper based descriptive test.
  • Candidate needs to score 33% marks in the SSC CGL tier 3 exam to qualify for tier 4.
  • SSC CGL tier 4 exam is the final stage of CGL exam.
  • The tier 4 exam is conducted to test the typing skills of the candidate for specific posts. 
  • Candidates selected on the basis of their cumulative performance in SSC GCL 2017 are allocated departments as per the preference indicated by them in the application form and their final score.

*The article might have information for the previous academic years, please refer the official website of the exam.