UGC: 167 Institutions to mentor 936 Institutions Not Accredited By Public Agency; Read Full Report Here

Updated On -

Feb 1, 2021

Abanti's profile photo


Exams Prepmaster

February 01, 2021: University Grants Commission (UGC) has permitted 167 institutions to mentor 936 institutions that are not accredited by a public agency under its 'Paramarsh' scheme. 

As per the notice issued by the University Grants Commission (UGC), the commission is all set to reach its target of attending a minimum accreditation score of 2.5 by the year 2022. 

All higher education institutes who are over 6 years old will have to get accredited by either the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) or the National Board of Accreditation (NBA) under the mandatory rule set by the higher education regulator. 

Check: UGC NET 2021 Notification: Application, Eligibility, Exam Pattern, Syllabus, Admit Card & Result

The list of colleges that fall under the 'Paramarsh' scheme are as follows: Hansraj College, Kirori Mal College, and Kamala Nehru College, along with all affiliated with Delhi University (DU). 

Additionally, some of the mentors are Osmania University and the University of Hyderabad; St. Xavier’s College in Kolkata, Symbiosis International University Pune, Loyola College in Chennai, and HR College of Commerce and Economics, Mumbai. 

Check: CBSE UGC NET 2021: Application Form (Soon), Eligibility, Exam Dates & Pattern

Under the UGC's "Paramarsh" scheme, accredited institutes will be mentored in order to upgrade their academic performance and accreditation score. 

As per the official UGC's notice, “UGC has also set an ambitious target for itself that institutions should get accredited with a minimum score of 2.5 by the year 2022. To accomplish this target, UGC introduced a new initiative called "Paramarsh" in the year 2019 for mentoring the non-accredited institutions”. 

Additionally, “A well-designed scheme of mentor-mentee relationship will not only benefit both the institutions but also lead to quality education for the students who are currently enrolled in the Indian higher education system" the notice further reads. 

Also Read: 

*The article might have information for the previous academic years, please refer the official website of the exam.